Shrimp Mozambique

I’ve never had this dish anywhere else so I don’t know if this is how it “should” taste but I know it is delicious. It’s like a spicy shrimp scampi. The fact that it’s easy to make is a bonus.

This recipe from Cook’s Illustrated was fantastic but it didn’t have enough sauce for me. So I tried doubling it, which was great, and then I tripled it, which was even better, especially if you’re serving over rice, which you should. I also serve it with crusty bread & butter, plus a salad with a sweet dressing to offset the spiciness of the dish. (Last night I did a spring mix salad with sweet onion dressing, sliced mini peppers, chopped apples, and homemade garlic croutons.)

The picture is courtesy of Cook’s Illustrated until I can get my own. (I made it last night but forgot to take a picture.) Imagine the picture above but with the shrimp floating in sauce 🙂

Serves 4.

Ingredients:

For the sauce:

  • 6 tablespoons Frank’s Red Hot Original Cayenne Pepper Sauce
  • 6 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 6 tablespoons water
  • 3/4 slice hearty white sandwich bread, torn into small pieces, or 24 g fresh bread crumbs
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley (one time I accidentally put in twice this much and another time I left it out completely and both ways were good. So I’m calling this ingredient “optional” )
  • 6 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 6 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pepper

    Combine & puree all ingredients. Set aside.

    For the shrimp:
  • 2 pounds extra large shrimp (21 to 25 per pound), peeled, deveined, and tails removed
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • ½ cup finely chopped onion
  • 3 garlic cloves sliced
  • 1 C. white wine or beer
  • 4 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped parsley, for garnish (optional)

For shrimp:

  1. Sprinkle shrimp with ½ teaspoon salt and ¼ teaspoon pepper; set aside.
  2. Heat 1 Tbsp. olive oil in 12-inch nonstick skillet over medium heat until shimmering. Add onion and ½ teaspoon salt and cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.
  3. Add wine and bring to boil. Cook until reduced by half, about 4 minutes.
  4. Add shrimp and cook, stirring occasionally, until opaque and just cooked through, about 4 minutes.
  5. Stir in butter and sauce and cook until butter is melted and sauce is heated through, about 1 minute. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with parsley and serve.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑