Better Than Chipotle Chicken Marinade

I love the grilled chicken at Chipotle and have attempted to make it at home, but the few copycat marinades I tried were just ok. I played around until I came up with this one which I actually think is way better than Chipotle. In fact, instead of putting it in burritos, I eat the chicken by itself with a tortilla and salad on the side because it’s got such great flavor on its own.

  • 2-4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 2 teaspoons Ancho chili powder (regular is ok)
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 tablespoons (34 g) adobo sauce (from canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce)
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 to 2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts or thighs (I usually do breasts but Chipotle uses thighs)

Blend all ingredients (except chicken) with whisk or immersion blender. Pour in Ziploc bag with chicken and marinate 15 minutes or up to 24 hours.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑